In The Aftermath of Isaac, or The Billboard Song

 

 As I was walking down the street a billboard caught my [D] eye
The advertisements written there would make you laugh and [G] cry
The signs were torn and scattered from the storm the night be-[C] fore
And as I read the [G] things they said, why, [D] this is what I [G] saw;

Smoke Coca-Cola cigarettes, drink Wrigley's Spearmint beer
Ken-L-Ration dog food keeps your wife's complexion clear
Chew chocolate covered mothballs, they always satisfy
Brush your teeth with Lifebouy Soap and watch the suds go by;

When I recovered from the shock I went upon my way
I'd gone no further than a block when there to my dismay
Another billboard caught my eye and like the one before
The wind and rain had done its work 'cause this is what I saw;

Oh, take your next vacation in a brand new Frigidaire
Learn to play pian-er in your winter underwear
And Simonize your baby with a Hershey candy bar
See the difference that Drain-o makes in all the movie stars;

Oh, doctors proved that babies shouldn't smoke til they are three
People over 35 take baths in Lipton's Tea
You wanna make this country a better place today
Just buy a record of this song and throw it "fur" away.

T - I - D - E; spells - TIDE!

2 responses to this post.

  1. just one more ‘How could I have missed this?!’ post. Love the concept, the execution, and just the whole idea of knowing a guy that creative.

    Reply

  2. I wish I deserved the accolades, but this is a song by Homer and Jethro

    Reply

Leave a comment