ENDLESS THIRST

    

What’s that, my friend, thirsty again?
Did we not just now drink deep?
True, the mind plays funny tricks
when one no longer sleeps.

A dry heat withers my soul
yet it makes me hard and strong
Reptilian blood runs dark and cold
It isn’t water for which I long

Does the lion savor the deadly chase?
Or a desert hawk, the rabbit’s race?
Or is a need to survive the day
the joyless bond of killer to prey?

The thirst is now empty of passion
and its quenching equally weak.
I avoid those whom I loved once
In their stead a daze I seek

Their trust I spent like money
my shadow old friends won’t abide
But I have a new best buddy
and he’s always by my side

By night we hunt, by day we ride
From the shotgun seat my buddy drives
What’s that, my friend, thirsty again?
Did we not just now drink deep?

Leave a Reply

