PELICAN ENVY

Image

 

Floating free in an ocean of air 
spread wings still in gentle stream
Pelican rises, with no effort seen
Past my window he rises, eye touching mine
One flap of bent wing, and I’m left behind.

My envy is friendly as eastward he flies
Was his dark eye full of pity? 
His look meant to remind me
how bound am I to my ocean?
That I cannot rise?

2 responses to this post.

  1. this one is making me antsy

    Reply

  2. Posted by Chrome Poet on January 4, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Goosebumps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

