An Implied Critique of Kilmer

I think I shall never see a poem as lovely as a tree

I’m unhip to any script with more buzz than a bee

I ‘ve never seen an eagle that was bald-faced as a lie

Nor was any essay I have spied as bright as fireflies

No one ever wrote a note as well-read as a beet is

No rumor’s near as scorching as August’s brutal heat is

No volumes of prehistory appear in pouches on a platypus

Tabloids are nowhere near as nosy as your typical rhinoceros

I don’t believe that sailors speak any saltier than a clam

And nary a bear was e’er compared to a lover’s candy-gram

I’ve never found a frescoe as sumptuous as a feast

Or met a metaphor sans flaws; the end, to say the least.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Wow. That was just clever on so many levels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

