Thoughts of Home

I know I’m home when the church bell has rung,
when the backyard birds riff on familiar songs
I know I am home when I smell Mama’s fried chicken
Seasoned with pepper and love in the family kitchen

I know I’m home when the kids make me listen
To the Sesame Street theme, with a few words missing
I know that I’m home when I am at the door greeted,
by barks, whines, and paws I am excitedly feted.

I find my way home by the light of her smiles
an image undimmed by any number of miles
The power of love is what keeps me warm
Love buoys my spirit, protects me from harm

I know that I’m home when I my oldest friends say
when did you get back, or have you been away?
Work keeps me moving, but in some fashion, one day
The good-byes will end, I will be home to stay

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. heaven has a kitchen table…. however@ lets hope you have a more earthly ideal as well

    Reply

  2. This is just wonderful; sweet, straightforward, and, unless I’m missing something, devoid of parody/
    (You could, of course choose to do so at any minute though, ha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

