WHO KNEW?

Who Knew?
Nobody told us it wasn’t wise to act dumb
In a town where you have never been.
If you want to have a ball,
Be polite to po-po’s, said no one at all

Chicks are people too, I heard nobody say.
Or that, when making a pass
At some vacationing maid,
That acting like an ass
Will rarely get you laid.
Nor will drinking like a fish
Do much to impress the ladies
Who know for what you wish,
And trade you drinks for “maybes”.

Beaches are nice, but where’s the advice
To respect the sun’s powerful rays?
An old sign on the door said to be wary,
We didn’t think it meant today.
The next day found me a’peeling
If one looked in the darkest of shade
I’ll never go out in the sun again
With an SPF less than a cave’s.

We’re on our way back home now
my legs feel like both are aflame,
And may I add with perverse pride,
(And not a little shame)
The resort said they would never again
Rent to anyone who shared even part of our name.

Well, now I’m grown and whaddya know?
My life has been terrific!
Yes, I’ve lived and yearned,
Been loved and burned,
I tried teaching our kids.
But my lessons were like soporifics.

Like my parents before me I paid the bills
For my teenagers’ misadventures,
For which I made them work,
And worse, made them pay attention.
I tried to make it easy, one simple ministration;
Wherever you go on vacation,
Whenever you stay with relations,
Or anytime or place you roam,
Act as if Grandma’s watching you!
Act like you’re at home.

Leave a comment